Cake Or Death?

Just another WordPress.com weblog

  • Blog Stats

    • 13,619 hits

My Take On That Rove Thing

Posted by Chad on July 15, 2005

So here’s the deal. I’ve read stuff here and there about this Karl Rove fellow. There’s apparently been some stories about him on the news lately… a lot in the papers… some more on the tube…. so I figured I should make a comment on it. (If it’s fit to print, right?)

I could care less….

Really….

Either way….

If he didn’t do anything (which it seems to be shaping up that way), then whoop-dee-doo. We just wasted all this prime air-time and print space over a non-issue. Well done libs. Here’s your cookie.

If what the NYTimes and the rest of that flock accuse him of is actually a crime and he’s actually found guilty of said crime, then fine. Punish him. Fire him. Do whatever. Libs get their head on a pike and can dance in the streets.

Here’s the thing though. If Rove is clear, then he obviously stays put. If he’s not and he resigns/gets fired, the Left will bask in their victory… but only for a certain amount of time until the next witch-hunt pops up. (Granted, the media will gloat about until the Second Coming, which I heard is right around the corner.) But the bottom line is that even without Grand Puppeteer Rove pullin’ the strings they will find the smallest thing to whine/bitch/cry/slit wrists over. Nothing short of a Dem in the White House (or a Bush impeachment) will please them.

Is it wrong of me to just want the insanity to end….?


:::CLARIFICATION::: (for that guy/gal who may or may not read this site)

My “not giving a shit” about this Rove business is not to come across that I’m blase about CIA agents having their cover blown. Obviously that is an offense that not only endangers said agent, but America’s national security as well. The point I was trying to make is that it’s getting harder and harder to take All The Left’s Gripes seriously when there seems to be a never ending supply. (Feel free to insert your own “crying wolf” moral here.)

And lately it seems that every time they get a story that could damage the administration and bring them the sweet revenge they so desperately crave, it turns out to backfire on them. (I could bring up RatherGate, but really… why bother.)

I suggest that if they have a point to prove, make sure it’s valid and legit and won’t turn around and immediately blow up in their face (as it looks like it’s about to do).

Thanks to Ace for giving one more shit than I do about this whole thing and actually following the story a bit.

5 Responses to “My Take On That Rove Thing”

  1. Paul said

    Sorry my friend but you are coming off as blase about the public outing of a CIA operative.

    The article that you link to actually makes what Rove did even worse. Not only did he tell the reporter from Time Magazine but now we learn he gave confirmation to ANOTHER journalist that MR Wilsons Wife was a CIA operative.

    Hello, these are reporters he is talking to! Not the best people to talk about the identity of CIA operatives with. He is either stupid or maliciously conniving. Since i don’t think he is stupid it leaves the latter. If he acted intentionally and was hoping not to get caught then at the least he should be fired and at the most criminally prosecuted.

  2. Chad said

    Hey Paul. First off, thanks for checkin’ out the site and commenting.

    My point on this whole thing is that, at this point in time, there seems to be a lot of conflicting information out there.

    Were other journalists aware of Ms. Plame’s identity before Rove?

    What did Rove know and when did he know it?

    I’m just saying that in a time where Democrats are stone-walling and fillibustering their little hearts out, it might be wise to hold off on full out accusing someone of something before everything is known.

    I’ll admit that this is a story that I haven’t been following that closely, so I’m going to sit back and wait for the investigation to conclude before I come to a conclusion.

    My post was more or less to suggest that the Left do the same.

  3. Paul said

    I’ve been following the story since it first emerged a couple years ago.

    An important question that still has no clear answer is who are the mystery reporters that administration officials claim they learned about Plame from. And if these mystery reporters really exist, how did they get their information about Plame?

    It’s a dog chasing it’s own tail.

    Administation official – “I learned about Valerie Plame from a reporter”

    Reporter -“I learned about Valerie Plame from an administration official but I will not reveal my source”

    Administation official – “I learned about Valerie Plame from a reporter”

    Reporter -“I learned about Valerie Plame from an administration official but I will not reveal my source”

    repeat endlessly.

    I have a long detailed post about the situation on my blog. check it out.

  4. But you’re a-ok with Judith Miller being imprisoned?

  5. Chad said

    It depends on why she’s protecting that source.

    And that is in direct relation to who actually outed Plame.

    Until that comes out, I’m not for or against her imprisonment.

    (Personally, that’s one less journalist out there telling me what I’m allowed to know.)

Leave a Reply

 
